March 11, 2012

Easy Cranberry Chicken Recipe

Posted in Recipes at 10:24 pm by Tamara

Alright, I’m finally posting the cranberry chicken recipe I mentioned on Facebook!  Some of you pointed out that if it’s really so easy I could have just posted it in the Facebook comments.  Which is totally true.  However, if I’d done that I wouldn’t be posting this post and, if you noticed, it’s been two months since I’ve posted.  So I clearly needed motivation.

So now, without further ado, the Cranberry Chicken recipe!  I’ve made this twice now and it is oh so mouth-watering delicious, and EASY!  I got this from “Don’t Panic!  Dinner’s in the Freezer!” by Martinez, Howell and Garcia.  It also tastes really similar to a delicious chicken they served at NTBI.  I haven’t tried to freeze it yet, but it’s so good that I think I will.  The cookbook gives instructions for multiplying and freezing the recipe, so if you’re interested in that, get the cookbook!

Cranberry Chicken

  • 8 oz. Catalina dressing (I used honey catalina last time and liked it)
  • 1 package onion soup mix
  • 1 can whole cranberry sauce
  • 4 boned chicken breasts (I’ve used dark meat [leg quarters once and thighs once] and liked that; it gives it more depth of flavor.  Plus it’s cheaper!)

Place chicken in a single layer in a baking dish.  Combine remaining ingredients and pour over chicken.  Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 1- 1 ½ hours, or until digital meat thermometer reads 165 degrees.

Talk about easy-peasy, huh?  I didn’t think to take a picture until half of it had been devoured, but this gives you an idea what it looks like (and how quickly it will be gone!)  I served it with rice, which soaked up the sauce and was so good!  Enjoy!

I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

