December 4, 2011

Bear’s First Thanksgiving

Posted in Watermarks in Progress tagged , , , at 1:57 am by Tamara

We celebrated Bear’s first Thanksgiving with my family a few weeks ago.  He was TOO cute in his little turkey shirt, as you can see.  He just bursts with personality, and I think I love him more every day!  He just got his second bottom tooth, which is also too adorable for words.  Love this little boy so much!

My mouth is open, bring on the food!!

What’s up? I’m just chillin’.  (Wink, wink)

I made sure to get these teeth before all the big holiday meals!

We had a glorious feast for Thanksgiving with all the traditional (at least for our family) foods: turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, stuffing with raisins, green bean casserole, sweet potatoes (plain and with marshmallows), corn, fruit salad, cranberry sauce, all sorts of pickles and olives, rolls, sparkling cider, and six kinds of pie: French apple, pumpkin, lemon meringue, chocolate French silk, cherry cheese cake, and plain cheesecake, with ice cream and whipped cream for topping.  I’m listing those for two reasons: 1) I’m curious if my grandchildren will someday read this and if the traditional foods will be the same or will have changed, and 2) because it’s really amazing to have so much food.

We started a tradition when I was a little girl where we would start the Thanksgiving meal with five kernels of corn on our plates.  This is reportedly what the Pilgrims lived on for daily rations before they were able to take in their first harvest, thanks to the help and friendship of the native Americans.  When they celebrated their Thanksgiving feast, they put five kernels on their plate to remind them of how far God had brought them.  It is always really sobering to look at those five tiny kernels on our plates and then look up at the incredible meal in front of us.  We take turns taking each kernel and saying one thing we are thankful for.  We are very, very blessed!

Thanksgiving Dinner, 2011

Thanksgiving night we watched “The Pursuit of Happyness.”  I love that movie and I’ve been wanting to watch it for a while now.  I love it because it reminds me how blessed we are to have family who love us and will always be there for us in hard times.  Every time I see the main character and his son sitting on the floor of the public bathroom in the middle of the night because they have nowhere else to go, cradling his sleeping son and crying, I think “There, but for the grace of God, go I.”  It’s easy to take good jobs, warm homes, and caring family and friends for granted.  We are so blessed.

I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

