September 5, 2011

What Cake?

Posted in Recipes tagged at 1:09 am by Tamara

I’ve been eating real oatmeal for the past few days.  Do you feel sorry for me?  I do.  It was suggested that it might help increase my milk supply, so for the sake of my adored little baby I’m willing to choke down the nasty, globby, bland, sticky stuff.  Okay, it’s not that bad, especially once I add a heaping spoonful of brown sugar and a liberal sprinkling of cinnamon.  But it certainly wouldn’t be my first choice for breakfast.

So, to reward myself for this heroic act of self-sacrifice, and to celebrate the fact that it is now Fall-ish time sort-of (if you ignore the weather and the technical date Autumn starts), I decided to make some What Cake.

This cake has a ton of childhood memories associated with it; my mom would make it in the Fall and I remember requesting it for my birthday cake at least once.  It got its name because it’s so yummy that it gets gobbled up and you innocently ask “What cake?” when the members of the family who didn’t get as much as they wanted ask about it.  Hehe!  I love the mischievous twinkle in my Mom’s eyes when she explains that to people who ask for the recipe.

It’s kind of a caramel spice cake, and fills the house with a deliciously sweet and cinnamony aroma.  I like to delude myself into calling it “healthy” since it has oatmeal in it (see, just one more way I’m looking out for Berean and eating oatmeal!  Never mind that it has twice as much sugar in it as oatmeal….)  It’s super easy to make, so I used to make it frequently when I was Dean of Women at NTBI and girls would come over to my apartment for leadership chapels or just to hang out.  Every time I bake it it reminds me of them!  Sniff!

What Cake?

1 ½ c boiling water

1c uncooked plain oatmeal (Old Fashioned or Quick Oats both work)

1 stick butter, cut into chunks

1 ½ c flour

1t baking soda (a little less)

1 ½ t cinnamon

½ t salt

1 c sugar

1c brown sugar

2 beaten eggs

Grease a 9×13 pan and heat oven to 375.  Pour boiling water over oatmeal and butter, stir until butter melts.  Mix well flour, soda, cinnamon, salt; add to oatmeal and mix well.  Add sugars, then eggs, mix thoroughly.  Pour in pan and bake for 25 minutes.

But, never fear, you're doing it right! With all the ingredients it looks like this.

The batter is thick before you add the eggs--I always used to check the recipe 3 times because I was afraid I did something wrong!

 

Topping:

3/4 c brown sugar

2T milk

6T butter

1c chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)

Combine everything but nuts in pan and heat to a boil, stirring frequently.  Boil for one minute and remove from heat.  Blend in nuts, spread on cake and place under broiler long enough to brown slightly (broiler is optional, but will make the topping more caramelized).

More sugar! More butter! Ohhhh yeah! (The Facebook preview made you think this is how I make oatmeal, didn't it? Lol.)

 

Boiling and turning into carmely deliciousness

Pouring on the topping. I didn't have any nuts this time, but I like it best with them. Mom used to top it half-nuts and half-not-nuts to please the various family members!

It's not the most glamorous looking cake (especially without the nuts), but has gotten rave reviews whenever I've served it!

Yum, yum, yum!

And now, eat it quickly so you can innocently say…

What cake?

3 Comments »

  1. mary said,

    This looks similar to a favorite oatmeal cake my mom always made. I love all the pictures of all the steps!

  2. Mom said,

    Haha, I loved reading about this! Your telling of it makes its sound even MORE fun and delicious. Go, “health food” oatmeal! P.S. I like your line of reasoning about when Fall starts. :-)

  3. Mom said,

    Oh yes, I forgot to mention: Our love for “what cake” must be rooted in our British heritage. It is suspiciously like the “sticky toffee pudding” Cristi and I had in England. Heavenly!


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

