July 14, 2011

Nursing – The Gift of One Thing to be Confident In

Posted in Watermarks in Progress tagged , , at 10:24 pm by Tamara

I am so thankful that God created breastfeeding.  There are innumerable decisions to make as a mom, and for all the researching and praying and advice-asking I do, I still feel unsure about half of them.  I’m so grateful for one decision that I feel one hundred percent confident in.  There are so many things to worry about health-wise for Berean, but not breastfeeding – – I know it is healthy for him, and perfectly so.  I just think it’s incredible that our bodies can create this miracle food.  Even if a woman is malnourished, her body will still make creating milk first priority, which is, I’m sure, what every mom would want if it was her choice – – to be able to take care of her baby.  And not only is it a miracle food, but it’s simply incredible that all babies (unless there is a health problem) love it.  How many foods can you think of that everyone likes?  And especially foods that are healthy – – how rare is that??

I also love that I don’t have to ever wonder how to prioritize breastfeeding.  Sometimes I have so many things on my mind that I need to get done that I can’t decide where to start and I end up doing nothing and just stressing out instead.  But, when it’s time for Rean to eat, I don’t need to think about what to do first.  I feel completely secure in the decision to drop everything else and nurse him.

At first, I confess I wasn’t sure why so many moms talked about the emotional fulfillment and connection to their babies they found in breastfeeding.  Now I can definitely say it’s precious.  There’s nothing sweeter than when he finishes eating and just smiles at me with the most contented, relaxed look.  Often he’ll lay in my arms and just softly chatter like he’s trying to tell me everything he’s thinking.  And it is so comforting to know that if he’s upset and nothing else will calm him, chances are feeding him will.  It’s reassuring to know I have a trump card!  There is something extremely satisfying in calming down an upset baby.  I love that he feels safest and most secure when he’s in my arms, so much so that he can go from crying his eyes out to falling asleep in a matter of minutes.

Granted, the first five weeks of breastfeeding were incredibly painful.  I was on vicodin the first week, and I still told Adam it felt like I had a million paper cuts and someone was pouring salt and vinegar in them.  Ouch!  But, even still, it was totally worth it (and I’m so thankful it isn’t painful anymore!)  I’ve also been incredibly blessed that Rean caught on fast and I didn’t have any complications.

I really see breastfeeding as an incredible example of God’s grace, not just in providing for Rean, but taking care of me, too.  I need the emotional security of having at least one thing I know is the absolute best thing I could do for Rean!  I realize not everyone has such an easy time, and some can’t keep breastfeeding because of work or health problems, and I can imagine how discouraging that would be.  It makes me even more thankful for God’s grace, and I treasure it even more!  What a gift.

2 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    Hear, hear! So true, and well-said. It brought back some sweet memories of YOU as a baby. :)

  2. […] in the middle of panic seems counter-intuitive, but I think it’s probably a really good idea.  I’ve written before about how I love nursing Rean because it’s one of the few times I’m sure I’m doing the most […]


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

