May 1, 2011

A New Kind of Date

Posted in Watermarks in Progress tagged , at 10:55 pm by Tamara

After working seven days in a row (with 10-12 hour shifts) Adam finally got a day off today!  It was sooooooo nice to have him here.  I simply don’t know how single moms do it.  He went to church this morning, but we’ve been instructed by the pediatrician to not take Berean out until he’s a month old, so I stayed home.  Since we can’t take Rean places, we got creative for a date—we packed him into the car and went on a progressive drive-thru date: to Hardy’s for burgers, then McDonalds for fries and drinks, and Wendys for frosties.  Hehe.  The weather was nice, so we sat with the windows rolled down and talked.  It was fun, and really nice to get out of the house.  After we came home and fed Rean, Adam insisted on watching him while I went and ran a few errands.  What a sweet husband!  For some reason I love running errands—getting them done makes me feel like the world is in control!  Every time I left a store I had a horrible feeling that I was forgetting something, though (my keys?  wallet?); I realized I felt like I was forgetting baby!  It does feel like a piece of me is missing when I’m not with him.  To finish our date day we rented Tangled from Redbox, popped popcorn, poured soda, and watched the movie (with only a few breaks for diaper changing, feeding, and crying).  Our lives have definitely changed, and our definition of a date night might have to change for a while, but it’s a good change!

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    What a fun, sweet-sounding little date! I’m so glad you’re getting a chance to relax and enjoy each other a little. Thanks for sharing that. Love you!

  2. mary said,

    Don’t you love how your marriage changes with a baby? You fall in love in a new, deeper way. I love your date idea!

  3. Cristine said,

    What a fun date idea! Sounds like you all three had a great time.


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

