January 9, 2011

Travelin, travelin!

Posted in Watermarks in Progress tagged , , at 7:56 pm by Tamara

Adam and I just got back from an amazing whirlwind of a vacation.  We were gone eleven days and packed more into those days than I thought possible!  I’ll skip the flight horror stories since we’ve all had those—let’s just say it was bad, and were it not for both sets of parents coming to our rescue, the vacation would not have happened! Thank you so much, Mom and Dad Larson and Hamill!!

Our first stop was Arizona, where my extended family’s biennial (yes, I looked that up) Christmas get together was being held.  My dad is one of nine children, so these reunions are a big deal, literally!  I think it’s incredible that even though there are so many of us and we’re spread so far apart, everyone still makes it a point to come spend several days together every other Christmas.  I have treasured relationships with my aunts, uncles, and cousins that I never would have had otherwise.  What a blessing!

While we were there we had Christmas dinner, a gift exchange, and they even threw a shower for Adam and I, my cousins who just had a baby, and my sister and her fiancé, who just got engaged!  And, of course, we spent many hours playing stinky peasant, mafia, Dutch blitz, Mexican train dominoes, and other games.  (I’m assuming the pinochle tradition was continued at the home the ol’ folks were staying at, too, but I was not witness to it, as I was staying at the house with the young folks.  Hehe.)

Next we flew to Wisconsin where I was in one of my best friend’s weddings.  Thanks to our flight issues we missed the rehearsal but made it in time for the dinner and New Year’s party.  We left before midnight so we could stop by a party some friends from our old church were having, and it was so fun to see so many of our friends, some of whom Adam has known since middle school!  The wedding was Sunday, and I not only managed to fit into my bridesmaid’s dress (score!), but also refrained from fainting or falling during the ceremony.  The funniest thing was that all three of the bridesmaids were pregnant and showing!  (I told my friend that probably meant she was going to have honeymoon triplets.  She was not amused.  Hehe.)  The bride was absolutely lovely, and it was so special to get to be a part of their celebration!  I miss her so much, and am so happy for her and her wonderful husband.

Next we spent a few days with Adam’s family, where we celebrated Christmas again and were thrown another baby shower!  The shower was so much fun and I felt so loved—thank you to everyone who planned and came to it!  It was so fun to spend time with family, too, especially since the next time we’re all together there will be four grandkids added to the family!    We also got to get together with a lot of friends from NTBI who we miss so much.  I can’t believe we’ve been gone a year.

We had a wonderful time—how often do you get to see both sides of your family, be in a wedding, celebrate Christmas, be thrown baby showers, and meet with so many friends from school and church, all in one shot?  We feel so blessed to have been able to go!

When we arrived back home late at night we hugged our dogs (who we left with a house sitter), inspected the house, and immediately went out and bought a carpet shampooer.  Apparently the dogs’ gift to themselves in our absence was a vacation from being housebroken.  Wa wa waaaa.  But even that didn’t dampen our opinion of what a wonderful time we had!!  And, miraculously, I was still glad to see my cuddle puppies.  Good thing they’re so cute….

And now, back to reality!  (Wait…what?  Do I have to?)

 

2 Comments »

  1. Donna said,

    And I was there (on their vacation)! :-) So happy we got to see you, if only for a little bit. Now, come on, Baby!

  2. Danielle said,

    No honeymoon triplets… ha! Dearest of all Tamara’s… we should chat. I’m feeling mysteriously inspired (I seriously don’t even know what I feel inspired about or what I feel inspired to do) and that always makes my longing to talk to you extra ferocious.


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

