October 5, 2010

Observing the Natives, Apples, and Alarm Clocks

Posted in Water Droplets tagged at 9:48 pm by Tamara

Yesterday I looked out our window and saw some people wearing jeans and hoodies.  Whoo hoo, I thought, it must be cold!  I can wear Fall clothes! Yeah.  Note to self: just because you see the natives bundled from head to toe does NOT mean a Coloradan/Wisconsinite should pull out Fall clothes.  I think I just about gave myself heat stroke!  You would have thought it was 50 degrees instead of close to 80.  So funny!  But, that said, the weather has turned beautiful.  Today was a lovely 73, although the rest of the week is supposed to get a bit hotter again.

It seems that Baby has decided he/she loves all things apple.  Lately I’ve been wanting apple juice, applesauce, applebutter, apples and caramel, apple pie….  I’m starting to think about what else I can make with apples.  I wonder if that’s how Gwyneth Paltrow’s daughter got her name.  Hum.  Lets hope I don’t start craving bacon or artichokes or something….  Can you imagine: “Oh, what a cute baby!  What’s his name?”  “This is Rutabaga.  Say hi, Rutabaga!”  Actually, artichokes sound really good right now.  Have you heard the joke about Artie chokes 2 for a dollar?  No?  Okay, we won’t go there.

Last week I had a week off from work.  I didn’t know I had vacation time until I was suddenly told I had to use it by the end of September or it would expire.  THAT would have been nice to know when our family was visiting!  But, I had a good week, and basically did nothing but sleep and read.  I finished three books, which I suppose is decent since two of them were 700 pages long.  Adam, Knightley and I also went to the beach Saturday, and it was GORGEOUS.  The perfect temperature, sunny, just lovely.  I could live there.  This was the first week I’ve felt pretty good (although I did try to faint a couple times.  Interesting sensation, that).  It’s so nice to feel good again!  It also gave me the energy to make apple things.  Our house smelled like apples and cinnamon most of the week.  Mmmmmmm.  I didn’t throw up all week, and then this morning I got up to go to work and…threw up.  Connection??  I think so!!!

And now I suppose I should head to bed, since I can’t sleep half the day away anymore.  Five thirty alarm clock, I did not miss you.

1 Comment »

  1. Mom said,

    I hope Baby still loves apples the week end of the 15, 16, 17….. :)


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

