February 17, 2010

Yada, yada, yada

Posted in Water Droplets tagged , at 10:41 pm by Tamara

Nothing too exciting to report for this week.  Knightley seems to be settling in, and I’m devouring dog training books.  If we’re going to do this dog thing, I want to do it right!  The library must think we have a demon-dog with all the books and dvds I’ve been checking out.  I think I’m going to be one of those psycho parents who rabidly searches for all the techniques to have the “perfect” child.  (Ha!  Am I in for a shock or what, right?)  I feel bad for my firstborn already–maybe by #3 I’ll mellow out a bit.  But, as for Knightley, he has been a very good dog and we’re very impressed with how he’s behaving.  Except “sit,” which he claims not to understand.  I do NOT believe him.

Still plugging away at classes.  I’m doing a half-time load and it’s about right (what with working full time and moving and all), but I’m chafing at the bit to be DONE with this degree, so I’m considering torturing myself and going full time again next block.  We’ll see.

One thing I’m desperately missing is music and worship band!  I want a piano SO badly.  Viola helps, but it’s just not the same as piano.  Sigh.  Maybe someday God will gift us with a piano or keyboard.  He’s certainly treated us with lavishness in the past!  He’s so good to me.  I very much miss leading worship and worshiping at practices, too.  Our worship teams at REFC were just awesome; there’s something very precious (and rare) about being with a group of incredibly talented and yet servant-hearted and unified musicians.  Miss it very much!

I’m starting to feel the lack of friends; it would be nice to have a girlfriend I knew I could call to just go lounge in a coffee shop.  Also miss my mentors, and having someone to mentor.  I guess all that comes with time, right?  And plugging in to a good church will probably help a lot.

Lest this sound like a negative post, I should say how blessed I feel these days!  Life’s good!  One notable event: we had someone over for a meal the other day, and besides the beans getting cold, nothing went wrong!  Whoa!  This is a milestone.

5 Comments »

  1. And WE miss you on worship team!!! Worship is the best, though, isn’t it? I’m sure you’ll find a place there, soon, and that little empty worship spot in your heart will be filled once again. Praying for you! Much love to you!

  2. Joy Butler said,

    Wish I could somehow get the keyboard we have to you…maybe I could use it as an excuse to go to the Carolina’s! I really enjoy your blog, Tamara!
    Much prayer,
    Joy

  3. Tamara said,

    @Carol: Yes, isn’t it a blessing? Thanks for sucking me in to worship at Redeemer! You and Cindy had a huge part in setting the atmosphere of worship ministry. I learned a lot from you.

    @Joy: You’re welcome to visit anytime!! We need excuses to go do all the touristy things. :)

  4. zoomiesnoopy said,

    This is Kendall….Check out craigslist for the instruments! It may sound odd, but every time I’ve ever checked out the “Free” section, half the items are pianos or other instruments!

    Usually you’d have to get it tuned, etc., but GETTING the piano is half the battle, right! Just a tip for a rainy day….

  5. Natalie said,

    Tamara, I wish I could hang with you at a coffee shop! TODAY!! You are missed on so many levels. And my dreams (and schemes! he he!) for your life haven’t changed. When can we grab a cup of coffee together and skype chat? Send me dates next week! Love you much! And praying earnestly for you!


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

