January 28, 2010

Curing S-T-R-E-S-S

Posted in Watermarks in Progress at 12:19 am by Tamara

It occurred to me at work the other day that I really like cutting newspaper.  Something about the easy, grainy texture and smooth sound is just really soothing.  Then I worried, does that make me predisposed to become a serial killer or kidnapper?  Just wonderin’….

What else, what else….  Our plumbing appears to be fixed!  Praise the Lord.

I feel like I’m in the “middle of the movie” right now.  I’m sure in a few months I’ll be looking back to right now and telling the amazing stories of what God did and how I responded, whether good or bad.  I’m still working on the idea of living in retrospect, like I wrote about before.  The middle of the movie is the hardest part—usually it seems like God has maybe changed, or at least isn’t responding like I expect Him to.  Sometimes there’s a tiny nagging thought in the back of my mind that maybe my “easy pass” has run out and God’s ready to cease His abundant graciousness and let me deal with some trouble for a while.  But usually all that’s changed is my circumstances and how far I can (translation: THINK I can) see ahead.

12 Stones

The middle of the movie is when I need to go back to all the monuments of 12 stones that I’ve set up before—all the times that God has shown me His lavish, exuberant, humorous, gentle personality.  I was asking God the other day what the secret to being content is.  When life is stressful and constraining, how do I maintain a spirit of worship where I’m radiantly conscious of who God is and what He’s done?  I think part of it is just plain remembering, and then acting accordingly.  We’re so influenced by time, when our God is unchangeable and timeless.  Time makes us think everything changes, but God deflects both time and change.  I remember the ways I’ve felt and acted when I’ve been amazed at God’s provision, tenderness, _______  (fill in the blank).  He hasn’t changed, so why do my reactions and attitudes need to change?  Why do I get scared when my circumstances change; scared that God has changed, or I was mistaken about Him before?  Sure enough, in a little while I’ll be amazed by Him all over again.  I may as well live in the amazement beforehand.  Isn’t that what faith is?  Counting on things unseen?  And isn’t that what thankfulness is: remembering what God has done?  And isn’t that what worship is—recognizing and remembering who God is and what He’s done?

Could the secret of contentment be boiled down to faith, worship, and remembering?  And could contentment be the cure to…STRESS??  Whoa.

2 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    I like your train of thought! I’m praying for your His strength in “living in the amazement beforehand”. Love you!

  2. Tamara said,

    Thanks, Mom! Love you too–wish you were here. So when are you bringing that puppy?? :)


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

