January 25, 2010

No Toilet, William Wilberforce, and Standing in the Rain

Posted in Water Droplets tagged , , , at 12:00 am by Tamara

Today continued the rash of…interesting days.  Yesterday my shower was cut short when the drain plugged and we realized that the toilets were filling with water and backing up too.  Great.  It looks like there’s a problem with the sewage pipe all the drains connect to.  So, we’ve been without showers/toilets/washing machine, etc for two days.  I keep thinking of Haiti (and many other countries who suffer without us noticing) and I am so thankful to be as blessed as I am.  Still, that doesn’t change the fact that I have an American job that requires that I show up in clean business clothes and without body odor, so the stress of the situation remains.  Luckily, we’ve discovered that we can carefully flush the toilet once every so often.  Just thought I’d add that for anyone concerned….

I picked up a book at work the other day about William Wilberforce.  I REALLY want to read a biography of him.  From what I know of him, his story tugs at me more than I can say.  He went up against something morally wrong that everyone accepted, beat his head against impossible odds and…did it.  His fight against slavery literally changed the world.  I’m especially drawn to his story because he didn’t just change laws, he changed the prevailing mindset of two huge countries.  How <i>incredible</i>.  And how tempted he must have been to give up, but he didn’t.  He continued, holding his faith in Christ as his motivation the whole time.  Incredible.  In case you haven’t guessed, Amazing Grace is also one of my all time favorite movies.  If you haven’t seen it, you MUST.

Another random note: PBS started airing their new version of Jane Austen’s Emma tonight.  It stars Romola Garai as the title character, who also plays Wilberforce’s wife in Amazing Grace.  I desperately wanted to watch it, but–alas!–we have no TV reception.  Good news is they’ll stream it on pbs.org tomorrow.

Tomorrow Adam and I have to make one car get us to three places at the same time (work, school, and home for the plumber).  We really need another car, but are afraid to deplete our savings buying one before Adam gets a job.  It’s a viscous cycle, though, as it would be much easier to GET TO a job if we had a car.  How do we both work and go to school in different locations at the same time with one car??  And even if we had the money, how do we have time to find a good one, what with job searching, school, fixing the house, and working?  It’s stressing me out just a teeny tiny bit.  As my mom commented, though, God has worked other things out nearly miraculously.  He’ll provide.  In the meantime, I may be standing outside a closed Barnes and Noble for a few hours in the mornings.  At least it’s not snowing…just raining.

And now, I am going to bed.  It’s only midnight, which is two hours earlier than I went to bed last night!

I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

