January 23, 2010

Books, books, books!

Posted in Book Reviews, Water Droplets tagged , at 1:26 am by Tamara

One of my overflowing bookshelves

A few years back I started keeping a list of all the books I finished during the year (unfinished/skimmed ones don’t count, sigh). Last year I beat my record and I’ve been itching to post the list along with a brief explanation of what I thought of each one, but haven’t had time to summarize them all. One of the perks of working at a bookstore is that I hear about books all day, so I branched out into some genres that I haven’t read much of in the past. Found some I really enjoyed, and some that just showed me the sad helplessness of life without Christ.

A great website I found this year is “Ten Million Words.” Tim Challis, a Christian author and popular blogger, has committed to read and review every book that makes the New York Times non-fiction bestseller list this year. The NYT bestsellers fascinate me–it’s such an interesting snapshot of where our country is at and what we’re interested in. I can’t read them all myself, but reading his reviews is a great way to stay in touch with books that are impacting our culture.

How about you? What did you read last year? Is there anything that will stay with you for a long time? Anything you hated? What about a favorite book of all time?

I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

