January 18, 2010

Job Update

Posted in Watermarks in Progress tagged , at 11:51 pm by Tamara

Well, I haven’t posted for a few days as I’ve tried to decide what I should say about work. It looks like my position at this store will be different than at the old store, basically because most of the things I was trained to do at the old store can only be done by a manager at this one. Previously I oversaw the cashiers and was responsible for the accounts as well as opening and closing the store. To give an example of what I’m responsible for at this store, I asked one of the managers one day if there was anything I could do, and he said, “Yes, fill the staplers.” Sigh.

A sadder note is that this store is pretty slow, so I’m the only cashier, which means that I’m all alone for my shifts. That’s pretty disappointing because it gives me no opportunity to build relationships or tell anyone about how wonderful my Jesus is!

But, the main thing I need to figure out is that when I met the scheduling manager I was told that I’ll lose the job if I don’t maintain 100% open availability, including Sundays. That’s…a problem. Going to church is non-negotiable for me. I think the store manager agreed to me not being available Sunday mornings when I was hired, so I should be able to work something out there. But, even besides that, I just can’t imagine not being able to commit to anything else except work. No Bible studies? No volunteering? No ministry?

It’s a big priority to me (and a constant struggle) to keep my schedule open enough that I’m available to God. I know that when I get too busy I miss opportunities He gives me to both impact others and be impacted myself. I don’ know if this is going to work out or if God is telling me He has something else for me. Please pray for wisdom! I’d love prayer for a good attitude and work ethic for me, too. There are some other things that have happened at work too, and I’ve been pretty discouraged.

Adam is still looking for a job as well, and the thought of us both being out of work is pretty daunting! Please pray that God will provide us with the right jobs in the right timing, and especially that we’d stay calm and trust Him. It’ll be okay!

2 Comments »

  1. Natalie said,

    Tamara, I am so sorry to hear this and, confess, a little surprised (so, I can only imagine your surprise and disappointment)! This does sound different than what was originally communicated to you. Aww….so not fun. I will continue to pray for you that God makes His will clear to you and Adam as you begin to lay down roots in your new ‘assignment’ in SC. Glad to hear the house is coming along! Can’t wait to see it! It sounds like a major remodel! WOW! Precious one, you will be okay…He’s got you held tightly in His grip! love you!

  2. Mom said,

    Praying for you. Other things have fallen into place almost miraculously. Hang in there! Love you.


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

