October 4, 2009

Musings in the Wee Hours

Posted in Watermarks in Progress at 2:17 am by Tamara

Alright, I’m aware that it’s almost 2am, and probably will be past 2 by the time I finish this. But, as I FINALLY laid down tonight and started thinking about leading worship tomorrow, it suddenly occurred to me that I hadn’t downloaded the DVD clip we need for the service. Good gravy, thank You LORD for reminding me. So now I’m out of bed again, and since the computer is telling me the download will take another 41 minutes…I may as well write an update!

I know I left off on a philosophical, rather sad note last post, but I’m afraid I just don’t have the time to continue that story now, and if I tried to, I’d probably never, ever, catch up with life. So I’m going to give a more factual update instead….

I’ve been at Barnes and Noble for about a month now. So far I’m really enjoying it—I LOVE being surrounded by books, and our store is one of the biggest, brightest ones I’ve ever been in. It’s just a nice place to be at. My biggest complaint is how bad my feet hurt!! (Add numerous exclamation points.) Proof: I, the shoe-loving-one, have pretty much stopped wearing any footwear other than the crocs I recently broke down and bought. Yes, it’s that bad. I happen to think they’re ugly (at least they’re ballet flat style, not the original croc horror). But if any of you are wondering if crocs are really as comfortable as people say, yes, they are. Anyway.

I prayed a lot when I first began at B&N that God would give me wisdom to catch on quickly. Well, to get directly to the point of a long story, God has helped me SO much, to the point that corporate decided to feature me in the B&N newsletter “new hire” column. So that’s pretty encouraging! I’m part-time, which is good since there’s so much else on my plate. This week I had 30 hours, and it was a pretty bad week to have that many hours. I’m glad I survived. Please pray for great opportunities to show Christ to my coworkers every day.

Next, to get directly to the point of the story I was telling a few posts ago: I’m officially back in school! Loooong story short; I just started online classes through Liberty University. Finally, at long last, I will (Lord-willing) finish my B.S. in Psychology—Christian Counseling. I’m excited. Really enjoying classes so far, although it’s a lot of work on top of everything else. I took a test tonight that covered 200 pages of my psych 101 textbook. Phew. The double-shot latte I drank at 9:00pm so I could finish my homework and test may be part of the reason I’m still awake…. It’s interesting readjusting to the college life. (“What? It’s 10:00pm, and I have to start my homework?!? I’m too old for this!”)

Both my internship and my worship coordinator responsibilities at church have picked up this month, too. When it rains, it pours. I coordinated my first women’s ministries missions event on Friday. It went well, I think. I’m glad to have one less thing to worry about!

Oh, for pete’s sake. My internet connection just died, killing the download too. Let’s start this all over again, shall we?

I guess that’s my segue to my worship ministries stuff. I’m still helping coordinate the Modern Service at my church. Picking new music, arranging the service order, communicating with musicians, etc. I’m surprised how much I’ve loved doing this. I’m going to miss it when we move. Of course, it’s crazy busy right now, too, recruiting new people, trying to figure out who’s going to replace me when we leave, etc.

And, last but not least, the cherry on top: we’re moving in three months. Let’s not talk about everything I HAVEN’T figured out for that yet. Whooo, hoo.

Life’s chugging right along! And I must say, I’m thankful to be out of the desert. God is faithful—He proved it in the dryness, and I hope I remember it now. And yes, it’s after 2am now.

I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

