August 2, 2009

Ah, Life. How Random You Are

Posted in Watermarks in Progress tagged , at 11:08 pm by Tamara

My eyelid informed me over the weekend that it has decided to develop a tick. I asked it who it thought it was, to be making important decisions like this without my consent, but it shied away from answering that question. It seems to be a rather lazy eye, though, as it only twitches every few minutes. ‘No endurance, that eye,’ I scoffed. I can’t tell if it was offended or crushed by that remark, but it has been trembling in the corner of my face ever since.

I turned to Adam at one point to ask why one’s eye would develop a tick. His calm, level response was, “I think they’re caused by stress. They call it a ‘nervous tick’ you know.” He said this slowly and carefully, as though this development was the final seal on my diagnosis of insanity, and he needed to not make any sudden movements in case my hand or foot suddenly developed a tick too. I told him I didn’t think I was that stressed, or at least no more stressed than normal. I don’t remember him responding to that. He hasn’t said anything about committing me yet, but if I hear him talking quietly on his cell phone in a closet I’ll know he’s looking for the best deal he can find on room padding.

I don’t know what it means when the most profound thing that has happened in your life recently is the development of a nervous tick. Well, maybe not quite the most exciting thing: yesterday Adam and I went to Barnes and Noble to read, and when I reached up to dig a hand into my hair I felt something in it. I pulled it out with some difficulty (I kept losing hold of it), took one look at it, and flung it from me with a suppressed scream. It was a beetle. A BEETLE. In my HAIR! I did a mini convulsing dance like one of those crazy people on medical TV shows who hallucinate, and Adam valiantly squashed it with his flip flop. How in the world does a beetle start exploring your hair when you’re indoors? I don’t even want to think through those hypothetical situations. C’mon, Beetle—I haven’t moved into the asylum yet! Back off!

I feel like there should be some deep SOMETHING behind these two experiences, or under them, or squashed in the middle of them, but I haven’t found it yet. If you have any hypothesis, feel free to share them. If nothing else, they do seem to rather succinctly express the randomness of the past few months of my life. My eye seems to be tired of trying to find the hidden meaning, but at least it’s still happily ticking away.

5 Comments »

  1. Kirstin said,

    My eye always starts twitching around the time I have a massive paper due. Last semester it was stats. Eat a banana and get more sleep. Actually, just get more sleep. I’m pretty sure the banana had nothing to do with the eventual recovery of control over my muscle movements. Holding it still with your fingers doesn’t work either. Trust me…

  2. Tamara said,

    Lol. Maybe I’ll try all three, just to make myself feel better.

  3. Joy Pontious said,

    Oh my gosh. I had forgotten how funny you are. Wow! lol. Well the hidden meaning is clearly that you’re going insane, dear one, and you’re making the trip with beetles! :D

    I will pray for your eye ball ;)

  4. daniellecrossett said,

    My eye twitched for about 2 months before I moved down here to MO… I hope yours isn’t possessed as long… it gets old

  5. Tamara said,

    Are we really that stressed out? We are attorneys, but, c’mon!


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

