June 18, 2009

A La Carte

Posted in Water Droplets tagged , at 2:20 pm by Tamara

It’s been hitting me repeatedly lately that this time last year I was in Afghanistan.  I can’t believe it’s been a year.  Part of me can’t even believe I was there.  Memories have been flooding me like crazy—I want to get more of them down on paper.  The emotions attached to those memories are still so sharp it surprises me.

I’ve been packing for this weekend, and my carryon suitcase still has the “Dubai International Airport” stickers on it.  What a trip.  I was thinking today about the guy who weighed my suitcase in Dubai and then ran after me to point out to me in stuttering English that he purposefully hadn’t charged me the whole rate.  I have my suspicions as to that guy’s human status (entertaining angels?) but at the least I know it was a post card from God to remind me that He had everything under control, including the precious contents of my suitcases.

The old itch to write is back with a fury.  I used to spend hours of my free time as a teenager in the library, pouring over Writer’s Digest books on writing technique.  I feel  like for the past—oh, more than five years, God’s been telling me to wait.  Gradually lately I’ve been wondering if He’s now telling me to go.  I’m scared out of my wits, though.  One comment from someone who doesn’t like a book I like (not even criticism of MY writing!), and I’m a wreck.  I’ll never get anywhere with my own writing if I don’t get over THAT.  I’ve been pouring as much prayer into whether I should try again as I’ve been pouring over my story.  I have every intention of that continuing….

And that, is a few unrelated water droplets of my life lately.  Thank you, thank you very much!

4 Comments »

  1. daniellecrossett said,

    Tamara,
    This is my thoughts on writing… they may be flawed, but at this point, I don’t care. As long as I’m not trying to sell (or sell for much) what I’m writing, then I don’t care for any negative sort of criticism. All I want to hear is the positive, building up sort of input. That may not sound good, but I figure, that at the moment I’m writing for my own pleasure and enjoyment, and the moment I want to add editers and publishers and such, then I’ll invite, and probably be glad for constructive criticism.
    AND, I think you write very well, and my opinion is most likely one of the only ones that matters :)

  2. daniellecrossett said,

    Also, I’m thinking of dusting off my trusty ball-point pen, and cracking open the notebook again as well (I write best if I write by hand, or mostly by hand). My main thoughts is writing a sort of embellished story of life in PNG… sort of a thrown together mash of separate stories of my families time overseas. Of course my primary inspiration comes from LMM, and I figured I should really write about what I know. And though my life wasn’t the most interesting ever, I’ve enjoyed it. Anyway, I’d like to discuss this in more depth sometime… and get your feedback… and I just want to see you!!

  3. Cristine said,

    Do you still want to write that butterfly book with me? :D

    • Tamara said,

      Yeah…I’ve been thinking about it. It’s easier said than done to narrow such a broad topic down. How about you start sketching what she might look like, and I’ll keep brainstorming?


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

