June 10, 2009

Living in Retrospect

Posted in Watermarks in Progress tagged , , , at 1:56 pm by Tamara

Picture from: http://i.pbase.com/u43/flyingshaula/upload/27996883.Mar092004EyeglassesAndBook.jpgGod is not going to let me rest until I write this.  I’ve often thought that, “in retrospect,” I don’t know why I stressed out about _______(enter stressful situation here) so much.  God always works it out, but until I see how He does it, I can spend a lot of energy worrying.  Retrospect always looks so different, though—hindsight is 20/20, to borrow another cliché.  In retrospect I can usually see that God was in control and took care of all the details I wasn’t sure He would.  Once I’m looking at life “in retrospect,” I’m peaceful and thanking God for so attentively caring for me.

I think the challenge is to learn how to “live in retrospect” now.  It’s almost like putting on glasses.  “Retrospect glasses” are composed of peace, thankfulness, and assurance that God had it all under control.  Too often I don’t put them on until AFTER I’ve worried a lot and AFTER I’ve seen God (again) come through.

The lenses of retrospect glasses are made of what I know about God.  I know He’s faithful.  I know He’s promised to take care of me.  I know He’s good.  I know He’s concerned about my well-being.  I know He doesn’t change.  Knowing all of that should alter the way I look at life.  It should, like glasses, put things in the right perspective so that I stop worrying.

The frames that hold retrospect glasses together (and, perhaps more importantly, on my face) should be made of how many times I’ve seen God come through in the past.  I don’t just know random facts about Him, I’ve SEEN it in how He treats me.  Time and time again, He comes through, and I think, “I should have known He had it all worked out.”

If I let them fall off, I need to put the retrospect glasses on by remembering who He is and what He’s done, thanking Him it; “setting up monuments” to remind myself of how God has come through in the past.

So, I’m (trying to) chose to look at life in retrospect now.  I, like many, am unemployed.  The deadbeat life was nice for about a week, but now has melted into a puddle of restless, stressed-out, too-much-time-to-think goo.  I’ve been doing pretty good staying peaceful (remarkably good, actually), until the last few days.  So, I searched the house for my retrospect glasses, and they are now back on my nose where they belong (with a little tape on the nosepiece, in my imagination).  I’ll let you know how He comes through (again).

3 Comments »

  1. daniellecrossett said,

    Tamara, I’ve already commented on this post on facebook, so I won’t bother you with more of my thoughts, but can I just say that I’m still getting use to this whole blog thing. It makes me nervous that people will hate what I write, or think that I am a silly girl (which would be DREADFUL!). But I guess that they don’t HAVE to read my blog if they don’t want to. Hopefully I’ll get more relaxed the more I use wordpress :) It does make me feel better that you have joined me.

  2. Tamara said,

    My sister just totally eclipsed my quasi-brilliance by dubbing them “retrospectacles.” I died laughing, then whacked myself on the head for not thinking of that. Ah, well.

  3. […] of what God did and how I responded, whether good or bad.  I’m still working on the idea of living in retrospect, like I wrote about before.  The middle of the movie is the hardest part—usually it seems like […]


I am SO encouraged by comments: please feel free to leave one!

